Castello Sforzesco

If you’re in Milan for only a couple of days, I would highly recommend a visit to Castello Sforzesco.

The castle was built in the 15th century by Francesco Sforza, the Duke of Milan, on the site of a fort from the century before. It is a popular tourist attraction. Inside the castle are also several museums, so one could easily spend the whole day here.

I went there on a Friday afternoon. It was a big place, but having read up about it beforehand, I was able to plan my visit a bit more efficiently.

I entered through one of the gates and found myself in a huge square, the Courtyards of Arms, which was paved by lawns parched by the scorching summer heat. At the ticket office I bought a ticket for 5 Euros which allowed me to visit all the museums in the castle. Right next to the ticketing counter was the entrance to Museo Pieta Rondanini, which houses Michelangelo’s masterpiece.

It was a plain and simple room. Apart from the fresco on its vaulted ceiling, it was devoid of any embellishments. The statue, raised on a marble pedestal, was placed in the centre of the room. Benches were put in front of the statue for visitors to sit and admire Michelangelo’s last masterpiece. At the end of the room was a bronze head of the master.

Another beautiful courtyard in the castle was the Ducal Courtyard, which was once the private residence of the Duke. The chambers are now the site of the castle’s museums. Unfortunately Sala delle Asse which normally shows Leonardo da Vinci’s paintings was closed for renovation.

I went up a winding staircase to the museum of musical instruments. There I found the most exquisite ancient instruments of all kinds from as early as the 16th century until modern times. There were lutes, guitars, violins, mandolins, organs, brass and keyboard instruments, all beautifully decorated and finished.

Although the grounds stayed open until late, the museums closed at 5.30pm. There was only time for one more, so I quickly made my way to the museum of antique furniture and wood sculptures. The exhibits ranged from 15th century religious carvings to chests and tables from the baroque and rococo periods, ending with post-modern designs. It was a bit of a rush and I was one of the last visitors to leave 2 minutes short of closing time.

Leave a comment